TOPIC: Performance View for Reaper

Performance View for Reaper 9 months 3 weeks ago #16951

Hi All. A few weeks ago I started playing around with scripting in Reaper, and had an idea for a performance view, similar to one I'd seen on a hardware modeller.

Long story short, I have attached the script for any Reaper user who would like to try it.
sgear_viewer_2017-09-25.png

It displays the S-Gear rack devices on the current preset, and whether they are active/bypassed. The only interaction you have is that you can toggle the active/bypass state for the rack device by clicking on it. Clicking on the Amp A/B box will toggle between the two amps. The window can also be docked in Reaper.

I did build in support for showing other VSTs on the same track that are before S-Gear (sorry no post-fx support yet). However in order for the VST to show up you will need to do a small edit to the script and add in the details of the VST, and the short display name and colour you would like to use. I have put comments in the script to explain this. Some default ones included already are the new Kuassa OD and FZ VSTs.

Some areas that need doing/improving:
- It needs wrapping added. At the moment, the rack devices will go off screen if they exceed the window width.
- Post S-Gear VSTs.
- Ability to change the amp controls. [Done]
- **Preset number/name**. This is a big one but I don't think I can retrieve this using the standard VST parameters for S-Gear, unfortunately. [Workaround in progress]

Installation:
- Save the script file "S-Gear Viewer.lua" somewhere where Reaper can access it. Reaper does have a default folder, which for me is C:\Documents and Settings\<<user>>\Application Data\REAPER\Scripts
- Load up a Reaper project with S-Gear on a track.
- In Reaper, use the "Actions" menu and choose "Show action list..."
- On the right, beside "ReaScript" is a "Load..." button. This will allow you to navigate to where you saved the script.